The 2010 “Dance Your Ph.D.” Contest

[tweetmeme source=”scwai” only_single=false]

I missed the announcement last month!

John Bohannon, aka The Gonzo Scientist, is once again organizing the “Dance Your Ph.D.” contest this year. Deadline for submission is September 1, 2010. Rules are here on the Science website or here on the Gonzolabs website.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed watching submissions from the previous contests. Looking forward to the new dance pieces and best of luck to all the entrants!

I like John’s pitch on his website:

The dreaded question. “So, what’s your Ph.D. research about?” You take a deep breath and launch into the explanation. People’s eyes begin to glaze over…

At times like these, don’t you wish you could just turn to the nearest computer and show people an online video of your Ph.D. thesis interpreted in dance form?

I find myself using both metaphors and hand gestures when I try to explain my Ph.D. research. An interpretive dance wouldn’t be too far a stretch from hand gestures. Anyone want to help me choreograph a semi-organized mosh pit?

Leave a Reply

