Happy 1st birthday, projectsteph

One of the few things I know about writing is this: spend it all, shoot it, play it, lose it, all, right away, every time. Do not hoard what seems good for a later place in the book, or for another book; give it, give it all, give it now.

Annie Dillard, The Writing Life (via Dictionary.com)

One year ago today, I launched this blog.

I’m still here! And I’ve managed to post at least once a month. A small personal victory, but a victory nonetheless.

I’m not sure I fully agree with the quote above, but I love the spirit of the quote – the no-holds-barred, give-all-of-yourself, recklessness of it.

It is in that spirit that I write this blog.

Some people might advise me to carefully consider and edit the pieces that I post here. I sort of reluctantly see their point. After all, my blog is very public, and anything I write here reflects on my skill as a writer and my character as a person.

Sometimes I imagine a potential employer or business contact stumbling on this blog and thinking, What a silly self-absorbed girl. I’ve in fact re-read some of my old posts and thought, Oh god did I really write that? What was I thinking?

The thing is… I have grown to love this blog as my, um, writing sandbox, if you will. I love that I can write on whatever I want, whenever I want. I love that I can experiment with different writing styles. I love that I can write as I am inspired.

In other words, I love that this blog allows me to explore my writing as an art.

The blog has already helped me in getting over my fear of writing in public – a critical fear to overcome for someone who hopes to make her living as a writer! As Scott Rosenberg so eloquently defended, I am learning. As my body of work (both on this blog and professionally) grows in fits and starts, the idea is that we will (hopefully) see an even greater growth in me as a writer.

With that in mind… here’s to another year of semi-reckless haphazard inspired blogging on projectsteph. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Happy 1st birthday, projectsteph

Leave a Reply

